THE ONE THING

THE ONE THING

When I reached out
Saying “Ramadan Mubarak!”,
The beaming bearded face of Muhammed told me
All I needed to know that day.

When I opened the door
For the burly football player,
He said thanks, surprised.

I saw my hand running over the birch branches
On the walkway to the library
And noticed someone catching me doing that,
Smiling.

We must take the one thing and love it.

It is not dependent on teachings or laws.
Nor does shyness or shame matter.
It is seeing the bright sun on a window,
Or a moment of rain,
That stops you cold.
Putting your finger on that stone,
Kissing it, maybe.
Sing up and hold the sky sometimes.
Kneel and touch your face to the earth
Who cries.

In the face of the Great
And the Hard of this world,
Take the one thing
And love it.

Do it now before you learn to know better.

Leave a Comment