THE DARK FELL AWAY

If I saw you that morning,
would you say that I did
when sunlight arrived with the
dart-eyed shuffles?
I never remembered the right things to say,
I merely touched fire and the dark fell away.

Sing me! Sing me! Sing me your song!
Wash me in waves of your delicate tears.
Hold me! Hold me! Hold me again!
Vanquish my trembling, my needs, all my fears!

There were clothes on the floor
and a TV on low,
the shower´d been dried up,
the blankets held tight,
I wanted that moment to last the whole year,
I wanted you to know I held our time dear.

You were there in the snowfall,
You were there in the rain,
Whenever I faltered
you came back again,
I misunderstood all your delicate lines,
You never deserted me in terrible times.

Sing me! Sing me! Sing me your song!
Wash me in waves of your delicate tears
Hold me! Hold me! Hold me again!
Vanquish my trembling, my needs all my fears!

Now I squeeze Spanish pain
into Englishmen’s words.
And I drift far away
from the people of my birth,
I listen to heart songs composed in the air,
But I never remembered enough to stay there.

Sing me! Sing me! Sing me your song!
Wash me in waves of your delicate tears
Hold me! Hold me! Hold me again!
Vanquish my trembling, my needs and my fears!

There were moments I wandered,
And days that I cried,
Months fell by the ravines near
the roads where I lied,
Among the sweet mem’ ries
It all seemed so clear,
Now Death comes too close and Fate is too near.

Sing me! Sing me! Sing me your song!
Wash me in waves of your delicate tears
Hold me! Hold me! Hold me again!
Vanquish my trembling, my needs and my fears!

When I saw you that morning
did you think that I lied,
when sunlight arrived with the
dart-eyed shuffles?
I just never remembered the right things to say,
I merely touched fire and my dark fell away.

 

 

2 thoughts on “THE DARK FELL AWAY

Leave a Reply

