Picnic Blanket

PICNIC BLANKET

When my eyes slide over
there, just right,
and the dragonflys test the wind
in solidarity;
when the sun cries
“Foul!” and snatches two suspicious clouds
from above our heads and
moves them elsewhere,
so I can better see
when you stand and twirl, and your skirt reveals
smooth legs muscled
with intent…
when I respond with eyes and water
filtering the scene and bending light
as my mind bends to the way
you sit
back
down
and, laugh with
just a little too much joy
to fit in the basket you brought,
I will roll up and die
folding my silly life
and tossing it up to Heaven
from where I will be born a picnic blanket
and face up,
forever more
smiling, waiting
for another day
just like this.

Leave a Reply

