The Beginning of Aging

If the beginning of aging is feeling old, then it has happened.
At 55, the man in the mirror looks different.
There is all the same features and yet, a subtler darkness is seen, a slightly, ever-so-delicate frailty has set in. I see my father. I see “old men”. I see a me who I see as now “old.”
It is disconcerting.
Not painful. No, that is too harsh.
But jarring, yes.
Accomplishments, publications and the like, increase, but glacially, the joys of parenting remain intact and full of energy, but the overall effect is now dimmed, and I see the end. It is not near (I hope) but nevertheless Time does not wait for us to be ready and does not bother with details. It happens and its direction is one way.

One thought on “The Beginning of Aging

  1. I think all of us at this time of life begin to see those faintest of hints of what’s not too far around the corner. I do see the “normal” and vibrant me, but I also note the subtle shifts taking place both physically and in my views of where/how I stand in the world- and for how much longer. But then I think, “Heck, I like knowing what I know and daring what I dare” . I’m curious to see how it all plays out. But I also know that growing old ain’t for sissies! Thanks for posting this. It’s an important thing to discuss.

Leave a Reply

